Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi?!!??!

I’m going to admit that the first time I saw kohlrabi written on the board, I had no clue what in the world this vegetable was. I didn’t quite know what to think of this “savory apple”. I went on a search for new exciting recipes after returning home from CSA pick-up and have since come to really enjoy kohlrabi’s unique characteristics!

Cut the leaves from the globe when you get home. The leaves should be eating as soon as possible and the bottom will last about 3-4 weeks in the fridge. You can eat kohlrabi cooked or raw.

My all-time favorite preparation for kohlrabi is kohlrabi cakes. I love playing with the herbs in the recipe. Last week I added fresh sage and Parmesan cheese. This week I’m adding thyme and oregano and topping with a dollop of sour cream. YUM! Warning: don’t skip the draining and squeezing step!

While eating at Girl & the Goat in Chicago, I was excited to see kohlrabi on a restaurant menu so I ordered the Kohlrai, Fennel and Blueberry Salad. The entire table loved it!

Grate them and throw in any slaw recipe or on top of salads. OR make them the star of your next slaw with this recipe. I like adding chopped red bell peppers to the kohlrabi slaw recipe when they are in season. I’ve also tried and liked this Asian Kohlrabi slaw recipe.

Grill kohlrabi.

Steam Kohlrabi.

Add kohlrabi to vegetable soups as in this recipe or simply add to your favorite vege soup recipe.

Stir-fry kohlrabi.

Marinade it and eat it raw.

Cook and mash or puree kohlrabi.

Stuff kohlrabi.

Braise kohlrabi. Probably my second favorite kohlrabi preparation. Most recipes call for the skin to be removed, but not this one! Leave the skin on. I love serving butter braised kohlrabi with Cabernet Braised Beef Short Ribs.

Don’t throw those greens! Prepare them as you would other cooking greens, like kale. Pesto those greens and serve over pork chops.  Saute them with some sesame oil and stir in a little chili paste also….You get the idea.

I flagged this recipe a while ago for kohlrabi fritters using cottage cheese. I plan to try this soon.  Are you gluten free? Try this kohlrabi fritters recipe using coconut flour or this one using ground almonds for added protein.

Interested in preserving your kohlrabi?…If you are a big kraut fan, try making some kohlrabi kraut! Here’s a great pickled kohlrabi and carrot recipe. Another fabulous pickled recipe is this one for quick purple kohrabi pickles.

Check out our Pinterest Kohlrabi Board for nearly 40 more ideas for your kohlrabi.

This entry was posted in kohlrabi, Preserving!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kohlrabi

  1. Rachel says:

    We made kohlrabi cakes last night!! They were GREAT!! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

